I think I screwed up...

Discussion in 'General Education' started by interzone0, Dec 1, 2014.

1. interzone0

interzone0 New Member

Dec 1, 2014

I am a first year teacher and I called out today because I am not feeling well. It is a bad day to call out (report cards due - but mine are done already) and I don't have the principals cell phone number so I couldn't call her cell. I did however leave a message on her work phone and emailed her, as well as emailed the secretary to let them know I am sick and cannot come in. This is the first sick day I have taken and I have been sick for weeks now. I know it looks bad being the day after Thanksgiving break (which apparently I will not get paid for - great).

Anyway, I called my principal again and finally got a hold of her in her office (right as school was starting). She told me she never got my email or voicemail and was mad I didn't call her cell - she pretty much reamed me out. I have sub plans on my desk just in case so it's not like I wasn't prepared. I'm really scared about this. I feel even more sick now as a result. I just don't think she likes me - anyone ever been in a similar situation? My boyfriend is saying she might not hire me back next year now. Is it not ok to take a sick day??

3. AlexaD

AlexaD Companion

Dec 1, 2014

Don't let the principal's reaction make you feel sicker. You did what you had to do if you didn't have her cell. She will get over it and you concentrate on getting better.

4. miss-m

miss-m Devotee

Dec 1, 2014

Seconding AlexaD. Don't let the principal make you sicker. You informed her two different ways PLUS let a third party know, and it's not your fault if she didn't check voicemail or email. If it comes up again, I would just politely ask for her cell phone number so you can call her on the correct phone next time you get sick.