I think I just made a very difficult decision...

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Mellz Bellz, Sep 8, 2013.

1. Mellz Bellz

Mellz Bellz Comrade

Sep 8, 2013

I've really struggled towards the end of last school year up until now about my future in the teaching profession. Unlike many others who make these kind of posts, I genuinely do LOVE teaching. I think I'm good at it and despite all the hard work I find it very rewarding.

As some of you may know from previous posts I moved down to NC from NY four years ago to find a teaching job. I had been subbing for over three years in NY and the job prospects were grim. I had hoped that by moving down to NC and securing a stable job, I would make enough money to really finally get my life in gear.

Within these past 4 years the education system in NC has turned upside down. For the past 4 years I've been working without a raise. Insurance, gas, groceries etc. have continued to increase, but my paycheck has stayed the same. I had hoped to someday when I got on my feet to complete my Masters for extra pay. NC voted to cut Masters pay to any teacher who does not already have their Masters by the end of the school year. I'd be up for tenure at the end of this school year, but NC cut teacher tenure as well. I'd like to in the future go for my National Boards, but I unfortunately forsee that incentive going away too and even if it doesn't I don't know where I'd find the extra money to finance it.