I Think A Student Stole From Me

Discussion in 'General Education' started by mazzystar, Dec 21, 2013.

1. mazzystar

mazzystar Rookie

Dec 21, 2013

I'm a first year teacher and I teach seventh grade. On the last day before winter break, one of my students decided to give everyone a gift bag with chips and candy. She gave one to me also and I left it on my desk.

There are a couple of students who give me trouble everyday and this day was no different. When I was in the back of the room I noticed them at my desk and immediately told them to get away.

When I was leaving for the day I noticed that the bag was gone. It's not that I really wanted the chips and candy, I just am upset that they feel they could take something from me.

I would like to address this when we come back and I would like some advice. I won't be able to prove that they did it, but I feel it should be addressed in some way.

3. Linguist92021

Linguist92021 Phenom

Dec 21, 2013

I would let it go. By the time you come back from break it will have been 3 weeks that the items were stolen. You don't know who did it, so you can't talk to a specific child, you just basically tell everyone that one of them did it. Nothing good will come from it, because no one will fess up, you telling them that it's not ok makes sense, but I don't think that message will stick. And it's just not a good way to start the new year.

My advice is this:
    - make it clear that students cannot go near your desk and especially cannot touch anything on it
    - make sure you don't have anything in the room that is reachable for them to take. If you must, lock it in your desk or filing cabinet.

4. Go Blue!

Go Blue! Connoisseur

Dec 21, 2013