I Really Need Some Good Advice.

Discussion in 'General Education' started by RainStorm, Jul 2, 2019.

1. RainStorm

RainStorm Aficionado

Jul 2, 2019

I hesitate to share this, because it is so deeply personal – but I need some good advice. I’m in a tough situation, and I don’t know what to do. This is long. I apologize in advance for that.

A little background. I’m an elementary school teacher at a small private school in a very remote area. Ten years ago, my loved one was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s. For the past six years, his care has taken a great deal of my time. For the last two years, his care took most every moment of my spare time, outside of teaching. The past six months? It has taken every waking hour outside of teaching. I haven’t had a social life in years. But his is what being a family means -- we take care of each other.

I should add that during these 10 years, I’ve only missed a day and a half of school because of it. I kept up with all of my work, did engaging lesson plans and lessons, graded assignments quickly, followed all the rules, communicated with parents, attended faculty meetings, etc., and did my best under the circumstances. I’ve been pleasant, professional and cheerful while teaching, but yes, there have been times I’ve been exhausted. My students thrived, did a fantastic job on testing, made good grades, and had no discipline problems. School was my shining star – my place of salvation. It kept me going.

For the past six months, I’ve had to let some things fall by the wayside – things like nights and weekends at school activities. Things like attending school sporting events, the school play, and fundraisers. I communicated with my principal often about this, but he wasn’t terribly understanding. I’ve done all my own extracurriculars, but just haven’t had the time or energy to be as supportive of things that happen after school hours as I’ve been in the past.