I really need advice

Discussion in 'General Education Archives' started by Sciteacher7, May 29, 2007.

1. Sciteacher7

Sciteacher7 New Member

May 29, 2007

I am a teacher who has just finished my first year. It was a very sucessful year, and I have been praised by my prinicipal. Unfortunately I have been dealing with personal issues lately. I have a dui on my record and was still hired by the district. Yet, unfortuantely I just recently got another (I was sleeping in my car when the police came). This dui is a blessing in disguise, as I am currently seeking intense treatment, and will use the summer as my rehabilitation time. I'm quite ashamed and saddened by my behavior outside the classroom. But I really want to make things right.

One of my biggest fears is losing my job in the district. I love my job and am good at it. I will most likely be charged with another dui. Have I just destroyed my career? Will I be fired by my district? My biggest concern is getting better right now. However, I really would like to believe that there's hope that I will be able to keep my job. My lawyer feels there is hope that I can keep my job by seeking treatment. However I am terrified and I can't even think about anything else these days.

Is there someone out there with advice or knows about these things? I'm desperate to get some information.

Thank you

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

May 29, 2007

Hi.

No advice, but my sympathies. I know some people who are in AA-- alcoholism is a tough thing to beat. But I know a number of real success stories.

To practicalities: why assume your school will even find out? You're not filling out another job application, so why would they ask? Unless you talk about it, it's entirely possible they'll never know.

Best wishes with your recovery.

4. ChristyF

ChristyF Moderator

May 29, 2007