I need some advice!

Discussion in 'Second Grade' started by vjcdncr, Feb 17, 2008.

1. vjcdncr

vjcdncr Rookie

Feb 17, 2008

I am an education student at Villa Julie College. I'm in a 2nd grade field placement this semester, and I need some advice. I have trouble thinking of good motivations for my lessons, anytime I teach a lesson. I also would like to know of any suggestions to help me with classroom management. If anyone could help me out, that would be fantastic!

Thanks!

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Feb 17, 2008

Motivation:
    be excited yourself about what you are teaching- enthusiasm is infectious

Tie new lessons in with something the kids are interested in- I recently saw a demo lesson where the teacher tied the Super Bowl to football themed subtraction problems

Connect to prior learning

Classroom Mgt:
    Be Proactive, not Reactive

Catch them doing the right thing and reward for the ones who are doing the right thing- could just be praise, thumbs up

Signals- lights out, clap a pattern, count down from 3

Be clear in your expectations, rules, procedures and directions

Do some reading on the subject: 'Cooperative Discipline' by Linda Albert, 'Love and Logic', ...

What works for the classroom teacher that is already being used?

Don't be afraid to be firm- the kids will test your limits...

4. Go 4th

Go 4th Habitué

Feb 17, 2008

I have second graders also and here are some things I do that may or may not work for you.

I try to make the lessons as fun as possible by either making up a song beforehand or with the kids. You can google songs for just about any concept and find something you can put to a tune.