I need some advice...

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by MissWull, Feb 8, 2011.

1. MissWull

MissWull Cohort

Feb 8, 2011

...concerning my professional life! I have been working at a college for the past 5 1/2 years, and the campus I work on is one of the smaller branches; so there aren't openings here as often as one would like. In my current department there is no chance of moving up, unless I want to be a librarian and I don't.

I just found out that someone in another dept. at my campus (OC) is leaving, but the position has been promised to another person in the same dept. but at a different campus (LA).

Here is where the problem comes up. Even though the opening is on my campus, a woman from LA will be filling it...leaving an opening in LA. I live about 2-2 1/2 hours (with traffic) from LA. The campus I'm at now is about 30 minutes away with no traffic, about an hour with it.

Pros:
    1. I'd make about $10-12K more at the new position
    2. It'd be a new challenge (I'm bored at my current position)
    3. Free trip! (This dept. gets a paid annual trip)

Cons:
    1. Have to take/rely on the train
    2. Work later hours
    3. Not as flexible of a schedule
    4. Further from home
    5. Working with my MIL

Obviously the money is the big push here. Taking the train would be a huge adjustment for me as I've always had my car and have been in control of where I could go and when. Working with my MIL wouldn't always be bad, and our relationship is just fine. But working in the same dept day after day could wear on it.

Another option would be...to stay in my current position and just get a PT job.

Also, I've always told myself when I get a new job...if I could help it...I'd like to be closer to home. Knowing I want a baby, it would only make sense and make things easier. But now with this job...I'd be going A LOT further away...