I need some advice. I don't know who to turn to. Please help?

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by pinkcupcake90, Jun 22, 2015.

1. pinkcupcake90

pinkcupcake90 Companion

Jun 22, 2015

Hi, everybody.

Please forgive me, I know I have posted something similar to this before. I'm a bit scared and worried, and it would mean the world to me if you could help me with my career change.

I got my master's in English literature, and I am now a certified teacher through alternate route. I have my CE (Certificate of Eligibility) in English.

The NJ Dept of Ed website says that I need to secure employment before moving to the next phase of licensing.

I got hired by this company called "Source 4 Teachers." They need some substitute teachers, and I figured this would be a good way for me to gain some teaching experience, something that my resume lacks.

But I don't know if I should get my MAT (Master of Arts in Teaching) or what I should do. I just want to be an English teacher. I'm so lost and I've been crying myself to sleep at night because I don't know if I'm doing the right thing by accepting this job.

Please help?

3. Jerseygirlteach

Jerseygirlteach Groupie

Jun 22, 2015

In NJ, your CE allows you to be hired as an alt route candidate. If you secure a position, you will need to go back to school and complete the certification coursework while teaching for at least a year in order to be issued a standard certificate. However, I will warn you that there is a lot of competition for English teaching positions and it will be harder for you as an alt route candidate with no student teaching or any teaching experience.

If I were you, I'd enroll in a post-bacc cert program and get my CEAS. You'll be a much more competitive candidate. You don't need your MAT right now and you can still look for teaching positions while you complete the coursework and praxis since you have a CE.

Good luck.

4. pinkcupcake90

pinkcupcake90 Companion

Jun 22, 2015