I NEED HELP!!!

Discussion in 'Special Education Archives' started by ahsila, Aug 20, 2006.

1. ahsila

ahsila Companion

Aug 20, 2006

I am in my first year of teaching SpEd. I am certified as a k-9 teacher, but I am on a waiver for my SpEd credential this year (taking classes to add the credential & working @ the same time.) My problem is that I am working with 6-8 graders who really can't read at all. I am trying to help them become readers, but it is so difficult. All of the "beginning reader" lessons I find are geared to younger students. I want to adapt the lessons to fit my students but I don't want them to feel like I am "dumbing down" a lesson for them. We have no curriculum set because they are at such a low level... I am basically building it as I go. Is there a site that has lessons geared toward struggling readers in intermediate grades? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

3. thechangingtabl

thechangingtabl Companion

Aug 20, 2006

Hello and welcome. I am a first year teacher as well, but my grades are combined 2/3 in a self-contained classroom. Ask your ESE liaison about SRA, I heard that it is the best reading program out there. I heard it was boring, but that it has the best results. Good luck and I am sure you will get some good responses from the experienced people here.

4. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Aug 21, 2006

Check with your ESL teacher (if you have one); ESL materials are high-interest, low vocab--perfect for new readers. Other materials to look out for--high-interest low-vocab novels, magazines, comic books, student-written work. I'll also be new to special ed this coming year; will be running the Resource Centre for grades 4-8. I'm not too sure yet of the levels of my kids (I'm going to try to get in to look at IEPs this week), but I think my lowest grade 7 boy is at about a grade 2/3 level in reading. Should be a challenge!

5. Ghost

Ghost Habitué

Aug 23, 2006