I need help PLEASE!!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Olivesmom, Sep 12, 2007.

1. Olivesmom

Olivesmom Rookie

Sep 12, 2007

Hello, I am a first grade teacher at a private inner-city school that is part of the choice program. I have 25 kids and today was the worst day I have ever had teaching. This is my second year teaching but first year at this school and first year teaching first on my own. My kids just seem out of control. All I have been doing since day one is procedures and practicing following directions. I have not done any teaching. I had a glimmer of hope on Friday when we had a quiet line in the hallway and we got compliments. However, today I couldn't keep their attention for five minutes. I have also started yelling quite a bit, I believe out of frustration and apparently some parents complained about my yelling (my room is right by the office so my room is pretty much in view all the time, lucky me) so now I am worried that I am going to get fired or just lose my mind. I feel like I am going insane! I don't want to yell and I feel absolutely embarrased and horrible that it is bad enough that parents complained but I am at my wits end with these kids. My principal is helpful and being supportive, but I just don't know what else to do. There are so many of them and we are packed in my room like sardines. Many of them come from homes where their dads or brothers are in jail. I just feel like I have tried everything that I was taught and it works once and then it is out the window. Please help or just send your stories my way, something. I just feel like maybe I picked the wrong profession if it is turning me into a person that hollers at six year olds.

3. tchecse

tchecse Companion

Sep 12, 2007