I need help figuring out how to discuss a child's behaviour to his parent

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by srfjeld, Nov 14, 2008.

1. srfjeld

srfjeld Companion

Nov 14, 2008

Hi,

I am a first year teacher and would like a little advice about one of my students. I know that we can in no way diagnose, or even suggest to a parent that their child might have a disorder, but I'm wondering what steps I can take as conferences are in less than 2 weeks.

I'm convinced there is something going on with this little guy. He has the hardest time following the simplest routines. Morning routine is to come in, hang up backpack, take out take-home folder, then hang up coat and put lunch box away and go to his desk and get to work that is left for him there. He has yet to master anything beyond hanging coat, backpack and lunch box. EVERY day I have to repeatedly ask him to get out his folder. When he does his work he does this thing with his eyes where shuts them tight over and over again and his head does almost a chicken peckish thing ever so slightly. I've asked him if his eyes bother him and if he can see okay and he says yes. He is liked, but has no relationships. He plays alone, contently, on the playground along side his classmates. He is a low-talker but when he is finally on task it's like he has just woken up and very loudly blurts out answers, which catches his classmates off guard so they laugh a bit and he looks confused as to why because he's really not trying to be funny. In class he's constantly moving around in his seat, throwing his leg over his chair, twisting all around. Also, he has emotional outbursts over the smallest... and I do mean smallest things, such as asking him to move over one seat in the lunch room. He will blurt something out and then cry for 2 to 3 minutes. These are all little things, but combined I feel like something is definitely going on.