I need behavior management help, pronto!

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by Miss J. Pre-K, Jan 6, 2009.

1. Miss J. Pre-K

Miss J. Pre-K Comrade

Jan 6, 2009

So, I have a hard class and I'm a first year teacher. I would post this in the behavior section, but thought I'd get more help here.

Problem # 1: In general, I've had trouble getting the class to settle down for circle time. We do a motion song or some body exercises before we do a large group, and I have rules for circle time that I say before we get to business. I also remind during circle, "Oh, I would love to call on you, child who's about to jump out of your skin with excitement, but I only call on friends who are sitting on their bottoms and raising a quiet hand. Still, it's a daily occurence, this battle of wills, and I've run out of strategies.

Problem # 2: My class is having trouble cleaning up after centers. I am making them stay and clean up, and I try to schedule 5-10 minutes for it, but there are some who simply refuse or who act like they are cleaning up, but are really just standing near the kitchen set/block shelf/science table. I engage the ones who have cleaned up in a song then a book (assistant is getting out lunch). Clean-up, especially in blocks and housekeeping is taking 15-20 minutes. My assistant thinks I should ban some children from certain centers if they didn't clean up the previous day. I'm not sure if I agree.