I need advice!

Discussion in 'Substitute Teachers' started by hootie821, Apr 4, 2008.

1. hootie821

hootie821 Rookie

Apr 4, 2008

Some of you may remember me...I am a registered nurse that wants a career change into teaching. I plan to apply to the alternative certification program this fall, however, in the mean time I have applied to my local school district to substitute teach to get some experience. The school district had a freeze on hiring until last week when I FINALLY processed! I am excited to try this new venture....but I need advice on how to get over being scared to walk into that class the very first time!! I know this is what I want to do and I'm sure that once I get started I'll be fine.....has anyone ever felt this same way when they first began subbing?? Kids are on spring break this week and no jobs have come up, but I need some advice so that I can feel more confident in myself, which I know is crucial!! :help:

3. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Apr 4, 2008

It's natural to feel nervous about stepping into the classroom. I know that I was nervous with every new school and grade level. You never know what you are going to get! I would look through the old posts on this forum. There has been a lot of advice on classroom management and tips to get through the day. Good luck! And welcome to the world of substitute teaching.

4. hootie821

hootie821 Rookie

Apr 4, 2008

I accepted my first job for this Wednesday! WooHoo!

5. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Apr 4, 2008

Good luck!!

6. sub&mom

sub&mom Companion

Apr 4, 2008

Cool! Good Luck on Wednesday! What grade are you teaching? I could give you more specific advice if I new that...

I do want to say that first of all, you should definately relax. You've accepted a planned absence, and these (for me at least) go so very smoothly because the teacher is prepared for their absence and most of the time, the students are as well.