I need Activities for teaching SIGHT WORDS

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by Bolivar09, Sep 30, 2009.

1. Bolivar09

Bolivar09 Rookie

Sep 30, 2009

I was wondering if anyone could share ideas on how you teach sight words. I'm a new teacher and i need help.... Thanks

3. sunnydaze

sunnydaze Rookie

Sep 30, 2009

I make sight word cards and laminate them. I then put them on a keyring so they don't get lost (I only give out a few at a time and when those are mastered add to the ring). I play different games with the children one on one and in small groups. One on one we try to beat the clock or an old time, I give tiny stickers to place on each card so we can track what we know and need to work on. In small groups I play race against each other to see who can get the word first, or I have the students quiz each other on the words. Hope these are some ideas that help!

4. letsteach

letsteach Comrade

Sep 30, 2009

Search the forums for sightwords as there have been previous posts on this subject. I tend to do this a lot now - someone, some where will already have had the problem I'm dealing with!

5. woobie5

woobie5 Comrade

Sep 30, 2009

I recently stumbled across Heidi's songs ... and I love them! I always think a catchy tune helps to learn things. Heidissongs.com!

6. Kteacher07

Kteacher07 Rookie

Sep 30, 2009

I do word rings and sight word songs to remember how to spell the words. I also do mix it fix its where I give them the letters all mixed up and the put it back together. We also use highlighters to hunt for sight words in text, the kids like finding them in our thematic poems and songs.

7. Rainbows23

Rainbows23 Rookie

Sep 30, 2009

play sparkle. you get in a circle with an object eg a teddy to pass around. You say a work eg like. the kids must spell around the circle and when the word is over everyone says 'sparkle!' and the child sparkle lands on sits down.

8. fun2tchk

fun2tchk Rookie

Oct 1, 2009