I need a new idea

Discussion in 'Behavior Management' started by robinsky, Oct 9, 2008.

1. robinsky

robinsky Rookie

Oct 9, 2008

So I have this 7th grade math class that has gotten out of control - I posted a topic on it a few weeks back. I'm a new teacher, and in this class it's been really hard to get anything done because so many of the kids were talking and not paying attention. So yesterday, I locked the door before class, and lined them all up outside. When the bell rang, I told them that it would be a quiet day, and anyone who talked would be sent to another teacher's room two doors down to spend the rest of the period working on worksheets. Well, it worked great! I had to send one kid almost immediately, then 2 more about halfway through the period, but the class was quiet and we got so much done!

Here's my dilemma: what to do next! Today and tomorrow there is no school, but on Monday, how can I sustain this? The teacher who took them in only wanted to do it once, her kids were taking a test that day so it was quiet, but she doesn't want the disruption during a normal day. I don't want to make waves by sending kids to the office. But I need an immediate response for kids who are talking! Any ideas? Thanks!

3. Ceyber

Ceyber Rookie

Oct 10, 2008

It depends on the support from home. It also depends on what you're aloud to do at school :)

The whole "the earth is going to come crashing down upon your head" trick tends to work, if you can play it right. If they find the consequences for the behaviour so bad, they will change.

I mark down when kids aren't paying attention or talking out of turn on the board - yes, it's terribly old fashioned, but it works. During the lunch time detention they receive when they hit three strikes, they have to

a) write an email to their parents, explaining they are in at lunch and why, and

b) copy the relevant notes from Googling Detention Contracts and hitting the first link (I can't post links...too new)