I need a Behavior Plan, any suggestions?

Discussion in 'Fourth Grade' started by readytoteach4th, Aug 10, 2007.

1. readytoteach4th

readytoteach4th Rookie

Aug 10, 2007

I am just starting out in fourth grade I have worked with younger children and they seem to do well with the card system, but I don't think that this system is meant for older kids what has worked for you? Need help:blush:

3. SLteaCh

SLteaCh Companion

Aug 11, 2007

What about using pretend money for kids to earn, and then buy things from the Class Store? I've seen it used where students earn pennies and then on Fridays they can exchange into bigger coins or dollars, depending on how much they save. Students can work the class store as well to practice making change, and the class will hopefully get a sense of the importance of saving money. Of course, you could always take money away as needed when students need to "pay" for their offenses.

Some teachers are against this, but I've seen it work and I like how it incorporates learning into the picture. It's also left up to the students about what they want to do with their money (save or spend), so they are learning about making good choices.

4. msb0803

msb0803 Rookie

Aug 11, 2007

I used a card system last year in 5th grade and plan to use it again this year in 4th grae. I also buy tickets and let the students cash in on Friday. They LOVE it!

5. MrsCSoup

MrsCSoup Rookie

Aug 11, 2007

I used the cards system before and it worked with that group of kids. Those students needed a visual.

Last year, I used a clipboard and recorded behaviors on my chart. Students would lose 2 minutes of recess time for each "letter" they received. Students were rewarded for good behavior at the end of the week (no more than 1 letter per day). Of course, I had behavior contracts for those who needed a "different" plan.