I messed up (student)

Discussion in 'General Education' started by LupinTheThird, Mar 23, 2012.

1. LupinTheThird

LupinTheThird New Member

Mar 23, 2012

I think I messed up (student)

I'm a student at a CC, currently taking a literature class (around 25 people enrolled) with my twin brother. We both wrote essays that got 100/100 points and I was really stoked because I was pretty sure that he would do better. After class ended, I asked my professor what essay she liked more. She told me that one was better than the other, and to email her later to find out.

Was this a bad question to ask? How would you feel if a twin student asked you that same question?

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Mar 23, 2012

It sounds like an immature question.

4. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Mar 23, 2012

I don't ever tell anyone a grade other than their own.

It seems to me that perhaps you and your twin shouldn't still be taking the same classes, if the "who did better?" question is still coming up.

5. orangetea

orangetea Connoisseur

Mar 23, 2012

I just wouldn't answer because grades are confidential.

6. jwteacher

jwteacher Cohort

Mar 23, 2012

Just remember that another student's work, even if it's your twin, is his and his alone. He should be given the same privacy and respect as anyone non-related to you.

7. lovebeingteach

lovebeingteach Companion

Mar 23, 2012

If you both got 100's then how could one be better than the other? The one that was better should have gotten the 100 and the other one should have gotten the lower grade. JMO!

8. JustMe

JustMe Virtuoso

Mar 23, 2012

I wouldn't answer. I wouldn't have asked either.

ETA: I wouldn't ask out of respect to my sibling. :)

9. bison

bison Habitué

Mar 23, 2012

Maybe you could try to tone down the sibling rivalry in the future and just do your best and be happy with it. Don't followup with an email (the teacher shouldn't be answering anyway) and move on.

10. GemStone

GemStone Habitué

Mar 23, 2012