I just need to vent!!!

Discussion in 'Substitute Teachers' started by Mldouglas, Mar 26, 2007.

1. Mldouglas

Mldouglas Comrade

Mar 26, 2007

Hi!

I am so glad that this forum is here. I have been subbing on and off for about ten years. I have always prided myself on being the best sub that I can be and always having an answer for anything that the kids may throw at me. I am also a borderline perfectionist and get upset with myself if I make a mistake in a class. I just don't like looking bad in front of the kids. I had an experience on Friday and one today that have really upset me. On Friday I was at this school and I was subbing in the morning for a 5th grade teacher. I had to teach a math lesson. I am very good at most math. Anyway, the math curriculum in this particular district is new and some of the concepts are very confusing unless you are in the class everyday. The lesson I had was called "Rectangular Method". I felt really bad because I was struggling with part of the lesson and one of the kids came up and showed me how to explain it. I just felt like I could have sat right down and cried. Then today, I went in for a teacher and she had asked that I correct their work but she forgot to leave me an answer key for the spelling assignment. I felt like a total idiot because I did not know whether or not "nonfiction" is a hyphenated word. I just hate looking bad in front of the students!!!! Thanks for reading.

Marci D.

3. Suburban Gal

Suburban Gal (formerly Elizabeth) Banned

Mar 26, 2007

I'm a perfectionist myself, however, I'd never let those kinds of things upset me to the point I'd like to cry over it. It's just not worth it, really.