I just found this thread about high school science teachers

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Teacher Brock, Feb 9, 2014.

1. Teacher Brock

Teacher Brock New Member

Feb 9, 2014

Search this on Google

"Are high school science teachers medical school rejects"
    It's on a website called student doctor network.

Is it true?

Is it?

Discuss.

3. gr3teacher

gr3teacher Phenom

Feb 9, 2014

Based on the name of the thread and the site, I assume it was just meant to troll teachers.

4. Peregrin5

Peregrin5 Maven

Feb 9, 2014

I'm a middle school teacher and not a high school teacher, but I do have to say there was a brief moment in my schooling in which I considered med school. It was very very brief, and mostly to appease my parents. I honestly think almost 90% of college applicants have some notion of going to med school and often lose that notion and pursue something else along the way.

5. 2ndTimeAround

2ndTimeAround Phenom

Feb 10, 2014

I'll play.

I wasn't a reject. *I rejected the medical profession. I chose family over that career path because I knew I couldn't do both well. I went into industry instead and was successful. But again, it interfered with family life too much so I left that career and went into teaching.

But...I imagine that a large portion of high school teachers did not originally choose their profession. This is either a transitory or second career. Of the science teachers about 20% started teaching right out of college. There are just too many options out there for someone with a science background. Teaching doesn't make it to the top of the list often.

6. Sarge

Sarge Enthusiast

Feb 10, 2014

I was rejected by Teach for America.

So I became a teacher instead.

7. lucybelle

lucybelle Connoisseur

Feb 10, 2014