I just found out I'm teaching Geometry - help!!

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by raneydae, Aug 28, 2008.

1. raneydae

raneydae Companion

Aug 28, 2008

I finally got my class schedule today (yes, class starts in 6 days), and apparently I'm teaching 3 Geometry classes. Which is fine, but all summer I was told I was teaching only Algebra and Algebra was all I prepped for...so I'm trying to pull a lot of things together quickly!

I've never taught Geometry before, and am mostly wondering if anyone has any great ideas on how to keep all those postulates/theorems organized, understandable, and easy to recall at the needed times. As a student, I personally struggled with formal proofs, so I really want to find a way to make them more understandable for my students.

So, Geometry people: any advice? Do you let them use postulates/theorems notes on quizzes and tests, or do you make them memorize them? Any help in anything related to teaching geometry will be VERY VERY appreciated!! :)

3. senseijoao

senseijoao Rookie

Aug 28, 2008

Stick to the books and plan by the week to stay on track. If you're doing McDougall-Littell, you have absolutely nothing to worry about. Proofs don't show up until congruent triangles.

This subject has been watered down so much in the last few years, it's barely recognizable anymore.

4. Carmen13

Carmen13 Groupie

Aug 28, 2008

senseijoao, are you Portuguese or Brazilian? (João)

5. Carmen13

Carmen13 Groupie

Aug 28, 2008

What grade of geometry are you teaching? What are the contents?

6. CindyBlue

CindyBlue Cohort

Aug 28, 2008

I just sent you a private reply, through your file on this website, because I realized my reply was too long (smile!)

7. leisurej

leisurej Rookie

Aug 31, 2008