I have to do the first bulletin board...

Discussion in 'Second Grade' started by MMRbella, Aug 18, 2007.

1. MMRbella

MMRbella Companion

Aug 18, 2007

I'm a new teacher, LTSing for a maternity leave. :)

I received my class list, recently, along with a bulletin board schedule. That is, the hallway bulletin board "rights" are rotated amongst teachers. Well, guess who has the very first bulleting board? I do. :unsure:

I actually love bulletin boards (I know, I'm weird), but I am a little freaked out about this. I have NO CLUE what to put up on it. I was told that it has to be up by the first day of school. But... I don't have any student work! :mellow: What should I do???

I figure that I should do a back to school bulletin board... but I'm unsure as to how this should be done. I've never put up a board without student work before. Please help! I am open to any suggestions or ideas, or opinions.

:thanks:

3. autumnpumpkin

autumnpumpkin Rookie

Aug 18, 2007

Maybe you could title it 'Welcome Back' or a catchier name and put a school in the middle with cartoon kids arriving to the school in different ways such as on a bike, a bus, a car, walking, etc.

Or does the school have a school song? You could display it along with some pictures to match.

4. funeoz

funeoz Comrade

5. map

map Companion

Aug 18, 2007

How about putting up a map of the USA and marking where everyone went on vacation. Students could put a small dot on the state/city where they visited. You could start the year by having all the staff mark their spots. I'm trying to think of a catching title. I'll keep thinking.

6. Pattie

Pattie Companion

Aug 19, 2007