I have the 6th period from hell! I need a new strategy! Help!!!!

Discussion in 'High School' started by englishteacher9, Sep 14, 2009.

1. englishteacher9

englishteacher9 New Member

Sep 14, 2009

Hello Everyone,

I am a new teacher. I am teaching English I to 9th graders. I am blessed to have 4 periods of respectful, hard-working, good natured kids. However, like I'm sure many teachers experience, I am stuck with the 6th period from hell!

I have over ten different competing personalities in this classroom. I have 2 kids with ADHD that I have sitting upfront that I have to monitor ALL THE TIME, and the class in general is rude, refuses to quiet down or pay attention, and does not respect me as their teacher. The kids have a terrible attitude, they think everything is a joke, and they oftentimes shout out inappropriate things or give ridiculous responses when we are discussing literature. They do not respect my authority, a few openly mock me, they are never on task, they never pay attention, they overtalk me, and the entire vibe of the classroom is BAD, BAD, BAD. It has a very toxic energy and it not conducive to learning whatsoever. Every time I turn around the counselor is transferring another behavioral problem into the class. My students that have been transferred into the class from other periods HATE IT and are begging the counselor to switch them back.