I have a "GIFTED" child in my room. HELP ME NOW

Discussion in 'General Education' started by prettyg, May 10, 2008.

1. prettyg

prettyg Rookie

May 10, 2008

So I'm a Pre K Teacher, I love all the students in my class. We have a special bond. However, I have this student who comes two days a week for only part time. The parent have talked to me about their child's intelligence and how advance the child and how different the child is comparing to all the children in the classroom without any observations whatsoever. There is a GIFTED program about children who are smart and so much better than all the children in this world. Okay, so the parent recently wrote me a letter stating the child's intelligence and IQ test result and that as the child's teacher I am not supportive and that I don't give enough attention to the child and the child's intelligence. And included a packet about gifted children, so I can understand this child's gift. Excuse me, but I am so annoyed and mad about this. Base on my observation this child have very little social interactions with others and can't even complete the class work without being distracted. I have to repeatedly tell the child to stay on task. Now is this gifted? This parent needs a reality check. I'm so mad, I really need all your response and opinion on this topic. I told and gave the letter and the packet about gifted kids to the director, but I don't think my director will really take any proper actions to this. I'm not looking forward to see this child and the parents come to school. AWWWWWWW....
    Help. T

3. terptoteacher

terptoteacher Connoisseur

May 10, 2008

There's only one special child in the world and every mother has it.

Chinese proverb

4. JustT

JustT Comrade

May 10, 2008

One year I had a classroom buliten board which was titled "We all have gifts" before I had a child with the helicopter mom. Each child had a cut out of a paper student with a glued on heart to place on the board.