I hate my job.

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by Miss Beazly, Jan 20, 2008.

1. Miss Beazly

Miss Beazly Rookie

Jan 20, 2008

I am a first year teacher, but this is a second career for me. After my own children moved out, I finished the degree I started years ago and was very excited at the prospect of teaching.
    I was offered a job at my first interview in a very small district and took it. I have to commute about forty minutes one way.
    The first semester was tough simply due to the workload. I teach 7th through 12th grade, 6 different classes. I had developed a pretty good system by Christmas break, but when we came back in January, the administration decided that some Reading groups needed to be changed and one of my Semester groups changed. It's like the beginning of the year now with these groups.
    Add to this that the disciplinary procedure at the school is a joke and the place is micro-managed by everyone from the secretary to the janitor. Everyone seems to have an agenda.
    As if this weren't enough, I don't even make enough to afford my own place. I am renting a room in a house.
    I don't know if I can last until the end of the year let alone continue in this profession.
    Any suggestions? Is this typical?

3. terptoteacher

terptoteacher Connoisseur

Jan 20, 2008

I'd say it's pretty typical. Your first year can be full of trials and tribulations. There is a lot of things that aren't talked about in teacher prep programs.

I'm big on fixing what bothers you and I'm big on BABY steps. So, my advice is to find one thing that bothers you that you CAN fix and try.

I'd stick it out to the end of the year, and then look for other options. Not all schools are micro managed like yours seems to be.