I guess it's my turn to have a freak out about all this

Discussion in 'General Education' started by DamienJasper, Mar 23, 2020.

1. DamienJasper

DamienJasper Rookie

Mar 23, 2020

Well, it's been a week at home, with increasingly worse world news.

A little about me I guess. I'm a middle school teacher in rural Idaho. It took me a lot of years to get here and (here's where I've been afraid of sounding selfish) I can honestly say I felt like I'd found my place in the world. I loved my job. It's been said that so often we're so concerned with what we're getting up to do to make a living that we forget why we're doing it. I considered myself unreasonably fortunate in that my what WAS my why; what I got up to do is why I wanted to get up. A real blessing and one I waited a long time for. 14 hour days were actually a joy for me.

But then...you know. We've been called for at least 4/20. I'm sure there's those reading or others who would say "Teacher? You're still getting paid, what are YOU worried about?". And yes; this is technically true. I'm not an employee of an airline, restaurant, barber shop, retail outlet, etc. So I haven't had the awful circumstance of being laid off and not knowing what comes next food and shelter wise.

However...I had been telling people since November that good days were like having all the riches of the world. And I"m pretty sure I haven't been good enough in life to enjoy all the riches of the world. Leaving my classroom last week felt like leaving a tomb. I miss it desperately. I'm hoping it wasn't "goodbye".

I guess what I'm getting at (and I'll understand if you think less of me) is that is the worst case scenario economic crash, no job is safe, not even a government job. Who needs schooling when there's no food or shelter?