I got bit today!

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by Master Pre-K, Nov 21, 2007.

1. Master Pre-K

Master Pre-K Virtuoso

Nov 21, 2007

Hello All,

Guess I am officially initiated to the sp. ed. pre=k class.

I got bit today! Didn't break skin, but left a bruise.

I used antibacterial wipe, and it left a little whelp. Talked to the kid, but you know how that went. I did make out behavior report. Guess we know what will happen with that too.

He is 4.

any suggestions?

3. cutNglue

cutNglue Magnifico

Nov 21, 2007

No suggestions but I got bit and she held on when I was doing my student observation. The teacher was impressed that I already knew what to do (calmly bring head in close and that causes them to release insteade of jerking away). Then they freaked because I was a student and not staff. They wanted me to leave immediately and go to the doctor. I didn't have insurance and it didn't break skin anyways. I don't have any advice. This girl did it all the time so they had a hands mat where she was taught to put her hands on this mat where a set of hands cut out was so that she could calm herself down. That wouldn't be the right approach for most.

4. bcblue

bcblue Comrade

Nov 21, 2007

Depends a lot on the kid, the cause, etc. Does the student habitually bite himself, others, clothing, toys? If he seems to fixate orally and stim off biting, you might want to talk to your OT about chewing toys that can be used to give the biting an appropriate outlet--there are "necklaces" and "bracelets" that are safe for chewing that a biter can be redirected to bite instead of people--if that is the kind of issue he's having.

5. teachersk

teachersk Connoisseur

Nov 21, 2007

I would also be sure you have NO open wounds (small cuts, ANTHING) anywhere near where the child's mouth was. If you do, you do need to go to the doctor.