I got a LTS position

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by bridgetbordeaux, Aug 2, 2012.

1. bridgetbordeaux

bridgetbordeaux Companion

Aug 2, 2012

Last year I subbed, mostly at one school. In November, they called and asked me if I wanted to interview for a parapro job in SpEd.
    I had subbed there and liked it so I took the job for the experience and to show that I was interested in working in any capacity even though I am a certified teacher. Long story short, county got rid of all part year hires as a way to save money. I told the school I would sub again this year. They called me in June to ask if I would do a maternity leave and of course I accepted. Jobs are still hard to get in this county,
    30,000 applicants for 384 jobs!

Question: Do schools usually interview for a long term position or do they just ask people they know are interested? I didn't interview, just said yes over the phone. Hope I am doing the right thing and am very excited to start in October.

3. leighbball

leighbball Virtuoso

Aug 2, 2012

I had to interview for my LTS position. Congrats! Have you signed any paperwork or anything?

4. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Aug 2, 2012

It depends on the school. First my first child, my team teacher recommended a sub in the district and she was given the position with no interview. For my second child, they interviewed for the position.

Good luck and congrats!

5. lbradley1718

lbradley1718 Comrade

Aug 2, 2012

In my district there are no interviews for LTS positions. The teacher has the ability to select anyone he/she wants as long as they are a sub with our district.

6. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Aug 2, 2012

I haven't heard of having to interview for an LTS, but I've read on these boards that some areas of the country require it.

7. Jerseygirlteach

Jerseygirlteach Groupie

Aug 2, 2012