I feel like I'm a bad teacher

Discussion in 'Behavior Management' started by srfjeld, Feb 17, 2010.

1. srfjeld

srfjeld Companion

Feb 17, 2010

I am in my second year of teaching 1st grade and I just can't get a grasp on behavior mgmt. I talk and when I'm raising my voice to tell them they need to be quiet, they don't even seem to hear me and just chat away. What really infuriates me is when our principal walks in and they nudge and shush each other in his presence... like little angels and he thinks they're the best class in the world. What this tells me is, they have the ability to act right, I'm just doing something wrong and they won't do it for me.

Here's part of it... I like to joke around with them too much so, as much as I know they like me, I don't think they respect me as an authority figure. I don't know how to ride that fine line of being the adult in charge and being able to let loose every now and again. They see me as either someone who's goofy and cracks up with them, or a crazy mad person when they won't listen... YES, even I know that is a problem... anyone else been here before? Any advice on how to be better at this? Books to read? Anything? Does it come with time or am I just doomed b/c that's just who I am?

Thank you in advance,

Stephanie

3. Peachyness

Peachyness Virtuoso

Feb 17, 2010

Well, you're right. There is a very fine line from where you want to joke around with the class, act silly, and then also be someone that they respect and behave for.

Well, it really begins on day one and that's when you lay down the laws, rules, and consequences. You must be more tough than silly in the beginning.

Heh... my kids think I'm so mean and strict, but at the same time, they like me and my class because I do take the time to joke with them and have fun games.