I feel like I have an addiction.......

Discussion in 'General Education' started by yarnwoman, Dec 22, 2011.

1. yarnwoman

yarnwoman Cohort

Dec 22, 2011

to my work. :eek: I am on vacation and I find myself thinking of my classroom and things I want to plan. I feel like I need an intervention. :whistle: Am I alone or does anyone else experience this?????

3. ku_alum

ku_alum Aficionado

Dec 22, 2011

This is the first year (in my 7) that I haven't done what you are describing.

I think it is common, particularly with newish teachers that are very motivated and love their job.

4. yarnwoman

yarnwoman Cohort

Dec 22, 2011

but I am not a newish teacher. I have been teaching for 20+ yrs.

5. greendream

greendream Cohort

Dec 22, 2011

I will admit to being addicted to this forum during my break, but my actual classroom is a million miles away right now.

6. tracykaliski

tracykaliski Connoisseur

Dec 22, 2011

I have been teaching for 25 years and I STILL think of things to do in the classroom when I'm on break. :) I write them all down so I don't forget them when it comes time to use them.

7. TeacherShelly

TeacherShelly Aficionado

Dec 22, 2011

You're not alone! This is my fourth year and I am really into my job. I love it! I've been to my room twice now, decluttering and going through things other teachers have given me. I am planning a lot for January. My husband says I am addicted...

8. teacherintexas

teacherintexas Maven

Dec 22, 2011

We are reading a teacher site during vacation. We are all addicted.

9. GoldenPoppy

GoldenPoppy Habitué

Dec 22, 2011

Exactly. Part of the fun of vacation for me is having time to work on projects/plans that I want to do for the classroom and the kids.

10. terptoteacher

terptoteacher Connoisseur

Dec 22, 2011

I wake up every morning of my break thinking about lesson plans, and things I want to do in the class. I have to yell at myself (in my head of course) to stop thinking about work.

11. ITeach4Him