I feel like a fraud and a failure

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Elocin, Oct 4, 2011.

1. Elocin

Elocin Comrade

Oct 4, 2011

I am so overwhelmed. This is my first year with my own classroom-I work in a school where there is no set program or curriculum. I create almost everything from scratch for 3 preps. I am working from about 5:30AM until 10:00 PM almost every night--I do take a few hours off in between to be with my children but even that time isn't quality time. All I can think about is how much work I have to do and when I can get back to working.

I know all new teachers go through this but it feels especially stressful creating all lessons and materials from scratch. I do use the internet as much as possible but it never seems to meet my students' needs. The hardest part is grammar......the kids' skills are horrific(7th/8th) and I am having a hard time finding things to meet them where they are at that are interesting. Every lesson has to be created from nothing and I am not even sure if I can use it again next year because I have no idea if it will be successful or not. I feel like I am trudging up a huge mountain with no end in sight.

I know I am lucky to have a job and I am nowhere near quitting (most of my students are wonderful but low, and I have an amazingly support admin and team)....but I also know I can't keep up this pace. I miss my kids, my relationship with my husband, and sleep!

If you walk into my room it LOOKS like I have it all together but I am really doubting if my lessons are meaningful and building knowledge. I just feel like a big phony.

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Oct 4, 2011

It seems to me that you'e working waaayyy too hard.

Your school has no set curriculum? (OK, I don't get that, but I guess it makes sense to them.)

So borrow someone else's.