I feel like a failure.

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Boba, Jul 31, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Boba

Boba Companion

Jul 31, 2015

I resigned from my job in NV to move back to CA to be closer to my family. I've had quite a few interviews and no offers. I'm not new in education either. I've had 3 years of school counseling experience and around 4 years of substitute teaching. This is how my interviews each went (from the ones I remember!)

Interview 1- Was a general interview with the school district (not the actual school). I felt like I had this but when I didn't hear back from the district, I emailed HR and found out they already made their selection. They were hiring 5 school counselors so hearing I wasn't 1 of them hurt.

Interview 2- Was a part time job where the interview was at a school. Interview also went really well. Got a letter in the email 2 weeks later saying I didn't get it.

Interview 3- I admit this wasn't a school I wanted (far drive, didn't care for the people interviewing me, bad pay, charter school). Interview was okay, haven't heard back at all from the school but it's okay as I do not want that position anyway.

Interview 4- Great interview until they asked me a question in which I have never heard of the vocabulary that they used. I gave a very vague answer and I think they knew I didn't understand the terminology lol. 3 days later, received a call from the principal stating I didn't get the job.