I feel for all of you!

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by TechnoMage, Feb 4, 2017.

1. TechnoMage

TechnoMage Companion

Feb 4, 2017

As a retired science teacher, I decided to go back to school this year and WOW! the difference I saw.
    It is still hard work (of course it always was) but the demands on my time were terrible.
    The special education demands have made a MOCKERY out of real teaching. The Judges have legislated from the bench so much that THESE students don't really work at all. You are required to type out their notes so they do nothing in class (why bother, you gave them the notes??). Extended time on assignments means they are perpetually, hopelessly, behind. They take their tests, over several days, someplace else. And as always, the responsibility for pass/fail is on the teacher, as the sped teachers CYA on you. Its no wonder these students can do so little when the "finish" (not graduate) HS. The sped students seem to be the highest priority in the "New" system and the students seem to be in charge. The "Spanish speakers" cannot fail a class and they are continuously and perpetually absent. Wow is all I can say. Adding to that, my state department of education (SC State of Confusion) has decided that a >60< is now a passing grade and the local districts believe in allowing kids to retake anything failed or "missed", are we setting these kids up for failure or what?? I think I am done.... This is Wonderlandish or did I wake up in crazyville?
    Is this an isolated occurrence or is this problem Pandemic.

3. 2ndTimeAround

2ndTimeAround Phenom

Feb 5, 2017

I'm north of you and I'm seeing the same thing. My district is so terrified of lawsuits that we cave to any request that a sped parent makes and label any child that doesn't have an A (and sometimes those too!) as learning disabled.

4. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Feb 5, 2017