I failed "the easiest test you'll ever take" aka CBEST

Discussion in 'Basic Skills Tests' started by jblithe, Sep 10, 2016.

1. jblithe

jblithe Rookie

Sep 10, 2016

I used to work with students in an after-school program setting for 4 years after I graduated from college. Then I entered the corporate world and felt/knew that it was a big mistake. I wanted to get back into working with students again so I decided to register and take CBEST. My mistake was, I never prepared for it, not even if preparing for it means I made sure I was well rested.

I talked to 2 people, one middle school teacher and another an elementary teacher who both told me that this will be the easiest test I'll ever take. I was told not to worry about it as no preparation was needed. I always worry when I take tests but went ahead and rushed to take the test anyway. I was desperate to get away from my current job.

Just imagine how much it crushed me when I saw my "NOT YET PASSED" test result. I was (still am) devastated. I feel sort of.. dumb. How can a test which measures basic reading, math and writing skills be so difficult for me? I NEED to take the CBEST again.. I can't just give up. :(

3. MsAbeja

MsAbeja Companion

Sep 11, 2016

Even the easiest test can be impossible to pass when you are not well rested!

4. jblithe

jblithe Rookie

Sep 11, 2016

Yea.. And my anxiety in taking tests didn't help... :(

5. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Sep 11, 2016

Seems Iike you didn't take the test too seriously. Even for the "easiest test", a review of the types of questions/content and rest would have served you well. And had you done those things, your anxiety would have been most likely lessened.

6. jblithe

jblithe Rookie

Sep 11, 2016

I respect your right to make such assumptions.

7. catnfiddle

catnfiddle Moderator

Sep 11, 2016

Well, the good news is that now you know EXACTLY what the test is like and will know exactly what you need to do for next time. It'll be fine.

8. TeacherGroupie