I fail as a teacher?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by OUOhYeah, Mar 12, 2016.

1. OUOhYeah

OUOhYeah Comrade

Mar 12, 2016

I feel like I fail as a teacher. I am a first year teacher and I am the weak link at my school.... I have had several teachers yell at my students because m students are not listening to me, nor do they listen to anyone else for that matter. I follow through with behavior plans set out by myself and follow through.

3. Linguist92021

Linguist92021 Phenom

Mar 12, 2016

Most of the time the first year teacher is the weakest link at the school - obviously they have to figure things out and it's not easy. I'd say the other teachers are pretty weak for actually yelling at your kids, first of all, why are they yelling and second, why are they undermining your authority??
    So don't feel so bad. Keep doing what you're doing, stay consistent, follow through, and know that next year will be so much easier.

otterpop likes this.
  4. mrsammieb

mrsammieb Devotee

Mar 12, 2016

Hang in there! I have been teaching for quite a while and there are MANY times I feel overwhelmed and like I could do better. I am not the greatest at behavior management. I like to live in positive not the negative. Each year I try to pick one area to improve, like reading or math or book organization. If I try to tackle it all, it is too overwhelming. Hang in there!

Backroads likes this.
  5. OUOhYeah

OUOhYeah Comrade

Mar 12, 2016

I don't necessarily think that I am the weakest link though because we are not in a competition with one another. At least, I don't see if that way. I shouldn't have phrased my previous post like that. I'm also technically in my second year of teaching already.

6. Linguist92021

Linguist92021 Phenom

Mar 12, 2016

What I meant was, that often 1st or even 2nd year teachers are obviously less experienced and usually not as good as teachers who have been teaching, and at the same school for 5 or more years. that's just how that is.