I don't think I want to be a teacher anymore....

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Peachyness, Jul 14, 2009.

1. Peachyness

Peachyness Virtuoso

Jul 14, 2009

I've been thinking a lot lately about my future. I have been taking classes this past year at the local junior college and it's been so much fun. I have been taking many science classes (two geology, astronomy, and a precal math class. Right now I am taking a summer school chemistry class). Academically, I am doing so much better now than I did 6 years ago when I was at the university. I will begin taking classes at the university this fall. Plan is to take classes two days a week, and sub the other three. My husband is NOT happy about this plan and wants me to get a full time job. I have not been able to apply to any full time positions as there are NONE around here.

Anyways, I find myself getting sick over the idea of being a teacher again. Okay, I LOVE teaching. I know that I am a good teacher who works very hard. BUt yet,when I think about having to get a teaching job, I feel sad and frustrated. After taking all of these science classes, my heart is getting into a science field. The more I talk to geologist professors and students who are already at the university, the more excited I am getting about this new career.

There are many reasons why I just don't want to be a teacher anymore, but the big one was this horrid principal I had, not this past school year but the last one. He's ruined my career making it very difficult to get another job. I was very fortunate to have had the connections to get a temp job for this past school year. That's just one reason. Others include having to deal with rude parents, having to teach straight out of the textbook, sticking to a script, etc. I could go on, but I don't want to bash teaching. There are also many many wonderful things about teaching.