I don't think I want to be a teacher anymore- Please help.

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by Ritalo, Oct 14, 2015.

1. Ritalo

Ritalo Rookie

Oct 14, 2015

Hi everyone. I've posted other threads on this forum but they all kind of tie into this one. I feel like I've made a terrible mistake. WARNING- long post ahead!

I graduated with my BA in psychology, and everyone knows you can't do squat with a BA in psych, so I had no choice but to go to grad school. I didn't want to become a psychologist, and I always had a love for children and a heart for children with special needs, so I decided to go for my masters in teaching. I'm getting dual certified p-3 gen education and p-3 special education. At first I was so passionate about it. And now for some reason I feel like I just chose the wrong career path. I'm now seeing how much teachers really have to put up with. SGO, assessments, evaluations, lesson plans, taking work home with you and not being able to enjoy your own children. When will I have time to enjoy ME? To spend time with my future husband and children? It's stressing me out.

On top of all that, classroom management and dealing with children who are struggling and then if they fail, the blame is on you. I'm currently working at a learning center and I don't hate it, but when a child is struggling I feel I am to blame, that I'm not helping him/her enough, and I lose sleep over it. I can't have a career that causes me to lose sleep and feel physically sick.

My heart was initially set on special education, until I became an assistant at a private specialized school for children with ASD/BD. I had to put up with all of the outbursts , the biting, hitting, kicking, screaming, etc. And that discouraged me compleeeetely. I keep being told that specialized schools are very different from sped programs in public schools, but I'm still just feeling discouraged.