I don't know what to do

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by kellzy, Aug 22, 2013.

1. kellzy

kellzy Comrade

Aug 22, 2013

Hello all.
    I'm a fourth year teacher this year and we started this week. As I have started to learn more about my class I've found one student who almost makes me cry. This child is a refugee from East Africa, Somalia, Kenya, Ethiopia, one of those unstable countries in the area. As a disclaimer, this situation is not uncommon in my school. Most classrooms have one or two children in this situation, in my four years, I've had ten students who are refugees from that particular part of the world. This child doesn't speak a word of English (not a big deal, I know how to deal with that part), the part that I just don't know what to do is the fact that this child has never seen the inside of a classroom. Ever. Neither have the parents. I've never had a child this new to the country. This is their first month in the country, and judging by this child's reaction to the classroom library, this child has probably never even seen a book before.
    I don't know where to start, or where to fit this child in. This child doesn't know how to open a book, how to hold a pencil and was horribly confused on what to do with a pair of scissors. What do I do for this child? Any advice on how to help this child is more than appreciated!

3. MsMar

MsMar Fanatic

Aug 22, 2013

I think it would be great to assign a buddy to this student. Someone who you know is kind and caring and can help this student out. Someone who you know you can have a chat with about the fact that everything is new to this student and he/she can use some extra guidance. Since you just got your class you may want to ask some of the 2nd grade teachers for a great helper.

4. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Aug 22, 2013

If its not uncommon in your school to have refugees from his country, could you find one who has been in your school a year or two to partner him up with?