I don't know how to go on..

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by freespirit71, Nov 8, 2016.

1. freespirit71

freespirit71 New Member

Nov 8, 2016

I am new to private preschool but experienced with public elementary school teaching.. My current "school" is run by a church governing board of @ 15 people. I essentially have 15 bosses. My assistant walked off the job 2 weeks ago. She and I fought for control of the class since the first day, even though I am the head teacher/administrator. It finally came to a head between us and she left. Now I have a revolving door of board members covering her spot until a new assistant can be hired. In the last week, not only did I lose my assistant but the board members have come in and changed my schedule completely, changed my curriculum, got rid of the expensive Christmas program I bought with my own money, and rearranged my room while I was out. They have told me to do my newsletters daily instead of weekly, changed the actual calendar for the year, told me what I have to say verbatim to parents every day, and stopped the assessments I was running with the kids. Since my assistant left, board members have been teaching my class while I have been relegated to aide duties. Yesterday I could hardly function from being so overwhelmed and depressed, on top of trying to recover from the flu. I cried all weekend. My husband is so sick of my job. I told a board member I am thinking about putting my notice in (2 months required by my contract). I don't know how to make it through to Christmas not to mention the year. The bottom line is like the moral about "too many cooks spoiling the soup". I can't imagine subbing for a public school teacher (as I have done in the past) and completely changing her daily schedule, curriculum, year calendar, assessments, newsletter, and music program literally overnight. In the public school, as a sub, I would be fired for doing that...but this obviously isn't public school. I told a board member that