i don't get readers workshop

Discussion in 'Middle School / Junior High' started by teresateaches, Aug 11, 2012.

1. teresateaches

teresateaches Companion

Aug 11, 2012

a little backstory...

i've been teaching history for the past three years. i'm an english teacher by endorsement though, and i'm moving back to teaching english this year after a break from it.

i am moving from an urban title I school to a very wealthy suburban school where the children of powerful senators have attended.

anyhow....all of that is to say, i'm moving from teaching kids HOW to read in seventh grade to teaching them how to read deeply and thoughtfully.

i'm reading up on the readers workshop and i'm interested but feeling a little overwhelmed. :dizzy:

i've the order the book "In The Middle" by Atwell and it will arrive Tuesday. I've googled and read the Scholastic stuff.

I don't really get HOW to implement it though.

I'll be seeing all my students on Mondays for shorter blocks then Tuesday - Friday is blocks of 90 minutes where I will only see the kids every other day (so either Tuesday and Thursday or Wednesday and Friday).

Any help or links are appreciated!

:thanks:
    :D

3. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Aug 11, 2012

Are you also teaching writing during this time?

4. teacherintexas

teacherintexas Maven

Aug 11, 2012

:haha:

Mopar, I'm not sure whether that was a joke or not, but I found it funny.

5. teresateaches

teresateaches Companion

Aug 14, 2012

Of course! How can you teach LA without writing?

6. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Aug 14, 2012

We split our writing and reading class. So students actually have a reading and writing class.

Basically, you will set goals with your students. These can be page number goals that students will read each day or week. Then you will give the students time to read books of their choosing (or you guiding them to choose) and they will read. Students can discuss reading, write about their reading, journal, etc.

7. teresateaches