I do, We do, You do teaching method

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by chrissy1214phx, Aug 17, 2013.

1. chrissy1214phx

chrissy1214phx Rookie

Aug 17, 2013

I am new to teaching and my district uses this methodology. Have you used this and can you briefly describe a whole group reading lesson or any lesson using this approach? I am still getting used to it and want to make sure I am doing it right

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Aug 17, 2013

I don't really call it that, but I do this all the time. I think it's probably the most standard method of instruction across all of education. Teacher modeling (I do), guided practice (we do), independent practice (you do).

4. chrissy1214phx

chrissy1214phx Rookie

Aug 17, 2013

yes, I guess I am reading into it too much and it is the way we teach all the time..........

5. TamiJ

TamiJ Virtuoso

Aug 17, 2013

Yes, especially in math. I teach the concept and do the problem (students don´t help me). Then we do another problem together (students will help me and I will guide them), then they practice it at their seats (partners or independent).

6. TamiJ

TamiJ Virtuoso

Aug 17, 2013

Exactly!

7. hollydoris

hollydoris Rookie

Aug 18, 2013

Yes, this method is more natural than it might seem and it's very likely you already do it. :) In math, I always will demonstrate and explain a new concept, then I have the students do it with me, then I let students work in small groups, then they have to work independently. The same applies in reading or any subject.

8. Tasha

Tasha Phenom

Aug 18, 2013

For reading- I model a reading strategy 3 times as I read by doing a think aloud. Students try it by turning to their partners to talk about it as I listen in, then I discuss what I heard them saying. Students try to apply the strategy in independent reading time.

9. Jeky

Jeky Comrade

Aug 18, 2013