I cried in front of my class...please help!

Discussion in 'General Education' started by hopetoteach, Jan 5, 2012.

1. hopetoteach

hopetoteach Rookie

Jan 5, 2012

I feel like such a loser. I am a 7th grade math teacher in a very high needs school. My 4th period class is a nightmare (actually is was ok until a major behavior student transferred into the class just before break..he sets off the other two that I have to work so hard to keep under control).

Before class, one of them threw his backpack into the hoop outside my portable and got it stuck which caused a big distraction at the beginning of class (all the kids were outside watching him and the two others try to get it down).

The class just did not go well after that. The new behavior issue kid refused to leave (he is suppose to get three warnings and then off to the resource room) and a number of other things happened.

I was feeling really badly for the other kids in the class who were trying to learn and had to put up with all this distraction. So I started to thank them for their patience and my voice choked up. They could all tell I was upset.

I didn't start really crying (with tears) until the three big problem boys tried to stay after and talk to me. I think they were going to apologize but I just told them I would talk to them tomorrow.

Anyway, has this ever happened to anyone else? I feel like a loser. I am a third year teacher but new to this school and to junior high. I don't want my principal to think I can't handle this but I worry about this getting back to him. He's a great guy so maybe he will understand. Also thinking about going to the Assistant Principal (a woman) and telling her so the story doesn't get exagerated. Or maybe I'll just chat with my building union rep and get her opinion.

It's a tough crowd and i know i can handle it but i just had a weak moment.

Thanks

3. Myrisophilist

Myrisophilist Habitué

Jan 5, 2012