I can't take it anymore!

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by PinkLily, Aug 21, 2012.

1. PinkLily

PinkLily Companion

Aug 21, 2012

I am fed up and I need some advice! My boyfriend's 3.5 year old niece is one of the most poorly behaved children that I have ever met. My boyfriend realizes this and has tried to say something to his sister, but she just doesn't get it. She thinks that all children behave like her daughter.

Just to give you an idea, this little girl never listens to anyone. She does whatever she wants and cries everytime doesn't get her way. Usually, her mother just gives in and ends up giving her daughter what she wants.

Being a teacher, I think that I have a pretty good idea of how to discipline a child and get results. Let's face it, I do it every day with 20+ kids. That being said, I've kept my mouth shut so far because I don't want to create problems between myself and my boyfriend's family. Honestly though, I can't keep my mouth shut much longer. Her behaviour seems to be getting worse and it's getting harder to not say something.

Is there anything that I can do to help this situation? I'd love to say how I really feel, but I know that the mother will just get defensive and hate me forever. Is there any way that I could give her some strategies or suggestions to help her control her child? Or am I just going to have to put up with this forever?

3. Missy

Missy Aficionado

Aug 21, 2012

I would stay out of it. I bet once the child is in school, the parents will hear about it from her teacher.

4. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Aug 21, 2012

Your boyfriend agrees, and has tried talking to his sister.

If that hasn't worked, you've done what you can. Unless the child is in danger of getting hurt, I would leave it alone.

If she's 3.5, she'll be in a classroom setting very shortly. Mom will soon get the message that something isn't right.

5. Tasha

Tasha Phenom

Aug 21, 2012