I can't decide if I should change grades!!!!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Mrs_B, Mar 31, 2008.

1. Mrs_B

Mrs_B Comrade

Mar 31, 2008

I currently teach 4th. There is an opening next year for 1st and I can't decide if I should move down or not!!! Anyone want to help me with pros/cons?

Some background on me:
    I have an elementary degree but taught 7th and 8th for 8 years, then stayed home for 7 years to raise my kids. I decided I wanted to come back as a K-2 teacher but only 4th was open. I have had a VERY challenging class so my principal and other teachers say I should give 4th one more year to see if I enjoy it more because they think I am good with that age.

Reasons to move to 1st:
    1.I would only have 20 students instead of 31!!!
    2. I think teaching kids to read is really rewarding.
    3. I have always wanted to do things like read the room, magnetic letters, letter tiles, etc (although no one at my school teaches this way)
    4. Dr. Jean, Jack Hartman, etc make learning FUN which is what I want to do. I find it harder to make 4th grade work fun.
    5. I would get to move into a BRAND NEW ROOM.
    6. The younger ones seem more eager to please. Some 4th graders already have bad attitudes and habits.
    7. I LOVE crafts and cute stuff!!! Not much of that in 4th.
    8. I did 8 years of grading essays and I still am in 4th. It might be nice to put stars on sentences...
    9. There is less testing

Reasons to stay in 4th:
    1. I have created a large chapter book library organized similar to Beth Newingham and would have to totally redo it and get a lot of younger books.
    2. The 1st grade teachers are complaining about being told by the district to have fidelity to Houghton Mifflin even to the detriment of the students. I have not been impressed with the 4th grade basal program so I can imagine I would want to rebel and teach it my own way. This could be an issue although our principal is pretty hand-off so maybe not?