I am not cut out for first grade....

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by MissFroggy, Oct 13, 2008.

1. MissFroggy

MissFroggy Aficionado

Oct 13, 2008

Ug.

I am just so impatient. I am tired of crying, whining, moodiness... OMG.

I wish there was a way I could change positions without leaving my school. I just don't think I have the temperament for this level. I just wish I was feeling nicer.

I feel really miserable about this because I AM A GOOD TEACHER- at least I thought I was.

3. lou reed

lou reed Companion

Oct 13, 2008

I went from 1st to 2nd - wasn't planning on switching, but it's been nice because 2nd graders are as sweet as 1st graders but way more mature and self reliant.

4. mmswm

mmswm Moderator

Oct 13, 2008

Every teacher has her "place" in education. What you've learned so far is that first grade isn't yours. Next year, try second. A single year can make a big difference when they're that little. Whatever you do, do be too hard on yourself. You'll find your niche eventually.

5. Jem

Jem Aficionado

Oct 13, 2008

I totally understand, Miss Froggy. I love third grade, but I'm seeing a LOT more drama with these kids than I did with my fifth graders. I'm thinking fourth might be a lot better. Is there any hope of moving up next year?

6. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Oct 14, 2008

MissFroggy-you are a GREAT teacher!! First grade just isn't your grade, and it's good that you know this. I taught kinder my first year, and within the first few weeks, I knew it wasn't for me. I moved to 2nd the next year, and it was soooooooo much better, but I still felt it wasn't my grade. After subbing and tutoring, its 4th/5th grade for me.

7. Canadian Gal

Canadian Gal Habitué

Oct 14, 2008