I am new and a Montessori Teacher

Discussion in 'Montessori Archives' started by Tala14, Sep 5, 2003.

1. Tala14

Tala14 Rookie

Sep 5, 2003

Hi! My name is Jen and I am a second year Montessori teacher. I hold a BA in Special Ed/Elementary Ed but I have not yet done my Toddler certification for the Montessori Education. I am always learning though! My school is Montessori all the way, but my director is open to bringing in other schools of thought as well. I work in a small school with 1 toddler room and 2 preschool rooms. I worked full time in the toddler room with another teacher who has been there a while and she was great to work with. We really had a great year between us. This year my director is joining us in that room since she was on maternity leave. This year I am working 3 days in the toddler room and 2 days in the preschool. I am more than happy for the experience end but I feel very undecided about my position within the school. Last year, they hired 3 of us. Only I am coming back from that year besides the staff that was already there. In April, a new girl started in the other preschool and they had her take the training. She has no degree besides this certification coming into this. I guess I feel like I've been short-changed in a way. Like here I am, I have more experience in teaching, I have a degree, and I felt a little over-looked. Now, I am teaching with her twice a week and I feel like I'm going to work "under" someone who is less educated than myself.. and I feel I'm having trouble with that... I feel like I should have had a classroom of my own before being a floater when it comes to seniority and when it comes down to education and such... If I am way off base, let me know. I've been fighting this feeling since I knew I was going to be a floater. Now I'm afraid they are going to try to keep me in this position.. and I feel I am much more qualified to have my own classroom, especially next year. Do you feel I am justified to feel this much t