I am male but want to work in elementary education

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Pen4Pencil, Oct 17, 2016.

1. Pen4Pencil

Pen4Pencil Rookie

Oct 17, 2016

Hi everyone. I am a male student who has to choose one of three programs; elementary education, special education, or secondary education.
    I really love elementary education. I have been volunteering/working with students K-5 since I was 14 years old. I especially love the lower primary grades Kindergarten to 2nd grade. The 3 schools that I have been helping at have told me that I have a knack for younger kids.
    However, I am worried about the possibilities of finding a job. Every one tells me that each year the amount of elementary male teachers is falling. Does that mean that school do not want to hire them for some reason?
    I would love to teach elementary students, but I know that my passion will not account to much if I do not find a job. And I do know that in high schools in the surrounding districts, there are many male teachers.

3. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Oct 17, 2016

Male elementary teachers are in high demand almost everywhere. There are many, many children who need a strong male role model. I would get lots of experience on your resume while you are in school. That will show schools how serious you are. The male elementary teachers I have worked with have been phenomenal!

MrsC and RussianBlueMommy like this.
  4. Pen4Pencil

Pen4Pencil Rookie

Oct 17, 2016

Thanks. This year I am working as a preschool assistant. Hopefully that will give me an edge on my resume instead of just the volunteer positions I had. Due to lack of funds the assistant position will be terminated at the beginning of the new year. However, I am sure that they will give me a great recommendation.

5. RussianBlueMommy

RussianBlueMommy Comrade

Oct 17, 2016

Absolutely agree with this. The ones I know are absolutely awesome!

6. Mr.Mike

Mr.Mike Rookie

Oct 17, 2016