I am in need of advice.

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Creativity, Aug 10, 2010.

1. Creativity

Creativity New Member

Aug 10, 2010

I am a seasoned fifth-grade teacher in the Midwest who generally runs a tight ship in my classroom. I am in my eighth year of teaching, and I teach in a public, general education classroom. My students are enriched with great activities, and they are encouraged to learn about all kinds of topics. But this year, I have a few challenges I am facing.

I am receiving a student who has been at our school since first grade, now in fifth, who exhibits major anger issues. He has shouted at his former teachers and his classmates have feared him. He shouted in his teacher's face last year on a number of occasions, from what I have gathered, and she did not do much. I try to not form opinions of students prior to having them, but I do not want to be blind-sighted, either, not knowing how to handle the situation well when it arises. Like any other teacher, I want to be prepared. His classmates will generally remain the same because we are a very small school with only a few classes per grade level, and a few I know are not looking forward to having him again in class. They've basically known him the entire time at the school.They talk about him because he has these sudden spats that throw everyone off. He has gotten physical, but not with the teacher. Apparently, he has thrown things, also.

I need to know how to handle these situations in a calm, professional manner. I want to be firm. I want to handle any situation knowing it is not directed personally at me. Would you write a referral and send him to an in-school suspension of sorts? Would you contact his parents every time he has a spat? I am sure his parents have heard about this time and time again. I am also sure the counselors are well aware of what he has done, and they don't always have time to accommodate his needs.