I am feeling very vulnerable...

Discussion in 'General Education' started by YoungTeacherGuy, Dec 29, 2011.

1. YoungTeacherGuy

YoungTeacherGuy Phenom

Dec 29, 2011

...but I need to get this off my chest!

As many of you know, this is my first year teaching middle school (after a six-year-long stint as a 2nd grade teacher).

Anyway, my day is comprised of seven 50-minute periods. Most of my classes are great; however, one of my classes (5th period) is a complete nightmare. That class has a very interesting student makeup. Most students are either mainstreamed from Special Day Class (SDC) or from the Opportunity Class (students with extreme behavioral, emotional, and/or academic problems who are placed in a semi self-containted class for 75% of their day).

I have no idea why or how all these students were placed together. Maybe it's because I'm new to the school so they gave me the toughest bunch of kids? Maybe it was a scheduling issue? Who knows!

My dilema is that I've been having nightmares about this class. I don't want to return to work next week because this particular group of kids is so difficult to work with.

My other six periods are perfectly fine: minimal issues with behavior, relatively respectful and well-mannered, and fun to teach.

Each day, before my 5th period class walks in, I can feel my blood pressure rise. I hate to admit this, but it's true: I dread seeing this class walk through the door each day. It's the longest 50 minutes of my life. I've never witnessed such disrespect and lack of self-control in my entire teaching career.

My principal has seen me teach many times and I've had pretty stellar observation reviews from him. When I told him about this class, he was shocked because he said it seems like I have everything under control in my other classes (he has never done an informal walk-through during this class).