I AM a Kindergarten teacher!!

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by Junebug, Aug 6, 2010.

1. Junebug

Junebug Comrade

Aug 6, 2010

My whole being is kindergarten. I have taught K for 13 years and only taught first and a low level second grade for one year each. I think like a K teacher.. but I emailed my P (this will/would be my second year at this school) asking about kindergarten testing about 2 weeks ago and yesterday after 3:00 she emailed that she was considering putting me in 3rd and I would not be testing anyone. School starts in less than 2 weeks and I am freaking out! I have planned but now I don't know what to do. I know 3rd is Okay but at this school the 3rd graders are bigger than me! Panic attack in progress :eek:

3. mrsammieb

mrsammieb Devotee

Aug 6, 2010

Ahh hang in there. I honestly felt the same way as you but opposite. I was always a 5th grade teacher. I loved it and there was a small part of my career I did 3rd grade. But I loved 5th. The kids were smart and funny and you could joke around but still read amazing books. We moved to Connecticut and I got a job and she told me it would be kindergarten. I literally broke out in a sweat...thinking I would faint. I went home and cried, told my husband I couldn't deal with tying shoes and wiping noses... I drafted a letter that I didn't think I could take the job...

Now, in my 5th year of teaching kindergarten... I see that God puts us on a path that he knows will work. I am LOVE kindergarten and I love that I got the nerve to do it.

Hang in there... you never know it might be just the perfect fit! And if not... we call all survive things for a year right! Hugs to you!

4. Junebug

Junebug Comrade

Aug 6, 2010