I almost choked a child today...

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Teacher_Lyn, May 19, 2009.

1. Teacher_Lyn

Teacher_Lyn Companion

May 19, 2009

Oh my God, I don't know what happened to me. This is my second year teaching and I have NEVER had the desire to reach out and hurt a child. But today, something inside me snapped. I'm the adult here. I am a teacher. I am better than this.

"Johnny" wouldn't stop knocking into other kids, yelling, screaming and acting like he'd lost his complete mind. I kept telling him to stop but he wouldn't. So I got real close to him and in a stern voice told him to straighten up. He started laughing, giggling and I felt my temper rising. I began to yell at him and stand over him but he kept laughing and laughing.

I reached out with the intent of taking his hand and removing him from my line, but my hand first went to his neck and I almost grabbed him there. Then I caught myself. I immediately told another child to walk him to the office because I scared myself.

What the He-- is wrong with me?! How could I have let myself get that angry? My entire class has been out of control since the beginning of the school year. Day in day out, they don't listen to me. They make so much noise in the hall other teachers have to talk to them.

Maybe teaching isn't for me. i don't know anymore. I am so upset with myself.

The child just returned from the office and I told him to stay outside my classroom in a chair for a few moments (that's how we do timeout at my school) because I scared myself so much. :(

3. ryhoyarbie

ryhoyarbie Comrade

May 19, 2009

Could be you have a crazy class with insane kids than the other teachers who just love to see their teacher's blood boil.

I'd probably ask other teachers you know really well and respect you if you should do things differently, if it's you, or perhaps that you just have a crazy class. I'd also ask the principal for some advice.

4. leighbball

leighbball Virtuoso

May 19, 2009